Book Launch!

front cover final (2)Yes! The time is near! Remember that post back in May when I described how it felt to actually see and hold in my own two hands the proof copy of my mystery novel? Well, that copy was proofed and sent back for printing and is now actually available here. (Kindle version will be available very soon too.) My publisher has scheduled a book launch event and reading at Elliott Bay Books for Thursday, August 21 at 7:00 p.m. That’s less than TWO WEEKS AWAY! You’re all invited, dear readers, and I hope you will come.

Now that this publishing dream is a reality, I must admit to being a little nervous. Total strangers will read my book, and not everyone will like it. But I’m not going to focus on that. I’m going to focus on the positive things. Like, the book itself is beautiful. I love the cover and the layout and the kind blurbs written by two of my favorite Seattle mystery writers and all the encouragement over the years from my writing group and my friends and my family. And I’m going to focus on the notification I got on Twitter from one of my early readers several weeks ago: Too early to do any “real work” so I’m reading @RachelBukey’s book instead. That’s more fun anyway!  Thanks Amy!

And I get to throw a party at my favorite Seattle independent bookstore and celebrate with all my friends (and any future friends) who show up. This will be a heady occasion. After all, I have been in the audience at Elliott Bay many times to hear some of my favorite authors read their work. I’ll try to stay in the moment and enjoy all the good feeling, and not be too nervous.EBooksWindow

And after the glow of the party wears off, I know what I have to do. I’ll be getting right back to writing the next one and the one after that. Writing, of course, happens right here – sitting alone at my computer and putting words onto the page. It’s a solitary occupation and I like that. But I also love a good party! Find the details here:

About writeinseattle

Two Seattle writers examining the writer's life.
This entry was posted in Rachel Bukey on Writing, Rachel Bukey writings, Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Book Launch!

  1. Congratulations! I hope you enjoy every moment of it. 🙂

Leave a Reply

