Hot, Juicy Words

treesamThis morning, as I sit here wrapped in my cream-colored faux-sheepskin throw (it’s cold in my early-morning office) reading Priscilla Long’s The Writer’s Portable Mentor, a little bird, a finch maybe, small but full-throated and insistent sings me a good morning song.  So excited is she that I must drop the throw, put down the book, and peer out the window.  I, too, am as thrilled as my early morning co-conspirator when I see the sky is blushing pink in the East.  After a day of pouring rain yesterday, it’s lovely to see that promise of blue sky, hope for a day without umbrellas and boots, raincoats and rain pants.  I lean over my desk to search for the feathery noise-maker and catch glimpses of movement in the spidery branches of my neighbor’s plum tree, bare now of its deep wine-colored leaves.  There are several of them hopping from branch to branch, calling to each other in their bird language I only wish I could understand.  I imagine it’s something like, Hey, over here, some berries!  Of course there are no berries on the plumbirds tree so I have to re-think this.  Maybe they’re playing a game of hide and seek, or, like young children, just jumping around with the energy of the new day.

Energized now too, I turn back to my Portable Mentor and re-read a section about playing with words, specifically Long’s ideas about how to increase your writing vocabulary by creating a personal lexicon.  I remember reading this before and even starting my own lexicon.  But I didn’t do it properly or for very long.  Here’s how you do it:  buy yourself a beautiful (lined or unlined) blank book that you love, one that’s small enough to carry around easily.  When you come across a great word  in your reading, write that word on the top of one of the pages, then draw a horizontal line in the middle of the page — only two words per page are best.  Later, look up that word and write the definition on the page.  (Note:  Priscilla has lots of ideas about which dictionary is best.  Check out her book here:   http://www.priscillalong.com/

Writer'sPortableMentorRemember, this lexicon you’re making is not meant for obscure Latinate words, not “big” words, but words that sound good to you, fun words, expressive words, hot and juicy words .  She suggests starting with lickspittle.  I like it, so I look it up: noun, a contemptible, fawning person; a flatterer or toady.   Now this definition surprises me a little because I thought lickspittle would be an adjective, but it’s a noun.  My dictionary adds a fawning underling to the definition and I immediately get a picture of Uriah Heap in Dickens’ David Copperfield — he’s always so ‘umble.  I can’t imagine using the word lickspittle, it seems a little outdated, but then, maybe some unctuous character in a future novel would dismiss someone else as a lickspittle.

I am a believer, though, in the idea of a personal lexicon.  So I decide to go out and get a proper book for my lexicon– a lovely bound notebook with fine paper. Here it is:   Lexicon

I found it at my favorite bookstore, Elliot Bay Books.  It’s made in Port Townsend by the Watermark Bindery.  And when I turn to the last page I see it’s signed:  Hand bound by Virginia Marston, Port Townsend, Washington, 2010.  I love that!  I want to put Virginia in one of my novels!

And, also, I can’t wait to start finding some fun, juicy words to add to it.  Here are just a few I noticed while reading Elizabeth Gilbert’s The Signature of all Things:  drench, dangle, cabal, rogue, caprice.

Try it.  Create your own personal lexicon.  I bet you’ll have some fun.

Rachel

About writeinseattle

Two Seattle writers examining the writer's life.
This entry was posted in Rachel Bukey about writing, Rachel Bukey on Writing, Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

